Neues Album von Yo La Tengo und Tourdaten


Yo La Tengo - There's A Riot Going On

Ich bin ein riesiger Fan von Yo La Tengo. Eine meiner ewigen Lieblingsbands und ich freue mich, dass am 16. März ein neues Album erscheinen wird. There’s A Riot Going On (Partnerlink) ist das fünfzehnte Studioalbum und wurde komplett selbst produziert. Oft waren Schnipsel aus Soundtrackarbeiten oder älteren Songs die Basis für die neuen Stücke. Über die Entstehung gibt es ein schönes Interview bei Stereogum.

Der Titel ist gleichzeitig Hommage an das gleichnamige Album von Sly and the Family Stone von 1971 und ein Bezug auf die heutige Zeit. Luc Sante schrieb zur Platte einen kleinen Essay:

“There’s a riot going on. You don’t need me, or Yo La Tengo, to tell you that. These are dark times, in our heads as much as in the streets. It’s easy to lose contact with the ground, flying through endless banks of storm clouds day after day. Confusion and anxiety intrude into daily life and cause you to lose your compass. There are times that call for anthems, something to lift you out of your slump and put fire in your feet. And then there are times when what is indicated is a balm, a sound that will wrap around you and work out the knots in your neck.

While there’s a riot going on, Yo La Tengo will remind you what it’s like to dream. The sound burbles and washes and flows and billows. If records were dedicated to the cardinal elements, this one would be water. There are shimmery hazes, spectral rumbles, a flash of backward masking, ghostly flamingos calling “shoo-bop shoo-bop.” You are there. And even if your mind is not unclouded–shaken, misdirected, out of words and out of time–you can still float, ride the waves of an ocean deeper than your worries, above the sound and above the Sound.

For Yo La Tengo this is a slow-motion action painting, and Georgia Hubley, Ira Kaplan and James McNew did it all themselves, in their rehearsal studio, with no outside engineer (John McEntire later did the mix). They did not rehearse or jam together beforehand; they turned on the recorder and let things coalesce. Songs came together over long stretches, sometimes as much as a year going by between parts. You’d never guess this, since the layers are finessed with such a liquid brush. You’d imagine most of the songs had sprung forth whole, since they will enter your head that way. Within two listens you will be powerless to resist the magnetic draw of “Shades of Blue,” will involuntarily hear “She May, She Might” on your internal jukebox first thing in the morning and “Let’s Do It Wrong” late at night. While there’s a riot going on you will feel capable of bobbing through like a cork.

In 1971, when the nation appeared to be on the brink of violently coming apart, Sly and the Family Stone released There’s a Riot Goin’ On, an album of dark, brooding energy. Now, under similar circumstances, Yo La Tengo have issued a record with the same name but with a different force, an album that proposes an alternative to anger and despair. Their first proper full-length since 2013’s Fade , There’s a Riot Going On is an expression of freedom and sanity and emotional expansion, a declaration of common humanity as liberating as it is soft-spoken.”

Und da Yo La Tengo sowas wie böse Genies sind haben sie gleich vier Songs als Hörprobe freigegeben. Allerdings alle Songs gleichzeitig:

There’s A Riot Going On – Tracklisting

1. You Are Here
2. Shades of Blue
3. She May, She Might
4. For You Too
5. Ashes
6. Polynesia #1
7. Dream Dream Away
8. Shortwave
9. Above the Sound
10. Let’s Do It Wrong
11. What Chance Have I Got
12. Esportes Casual
13. Forever
14. Out of the Pool
15. Here You Are

Yo La Tengo Tourdaten

06.05.18 Amsterdam, Paradiso (NL)
07.05.18 Berlin, Heimathafen Neukölln
08.05.18 Köln, Gloria Theater
09.05.18 München, Münchner Kammerspiele
16.05.18 Fribourg, Fri-Son (CH)
17.05.18 Schorndorf, Manufaktur

Dein Kommentar:

Kommentarfeed zu diesem Artikel via RSS abonnieren.

Hinweis: Kommentare werden moderiert. Sie können auch ohne Angaben von Gründen gelöscht werden. Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht!